India has been elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council

Post date:



К : PTI New Delhi

Published : 18. June 2020 2:37:09

 Seat on the United Nations Security Council, Permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council, Non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council, Indian Express

India has been elected as a candidate for a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council for 2021-22. (photo file)

India was elected on Wednesday for a two-year term as a non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council and received 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly.

In addition to India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway, the Security Council elections were also won on Wednesday.

There are 192 Member States with voting rights and the required two-thirds majority is 128 Member States. India got 184 votes. Canada lost the election.

The Member States elected India by an overwhelming majority to a non-permanent seat on the Security Council for the period 2021-22. India received 184 of the 192 valid votes, the permanent mission of India to the United Nations tweeted.

India will be the first country On 1 January, the United Nations will be the most powerful body of the United Nations for two years, with five permanent members – China, France, Russia, Great Britain and the United States – and non-permanent members – Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

India is a candidate from the Asia-Pacific region for a non-permanent seat for the period 2021-22. His victory was self-evident, because he was the only candidate fighting for the only place in the group.

Delhi’s bid was unanimously approved last June by 55 members of the Asia-Pacific group, including China and Pakistan.

India has already been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the periods 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently 2011-2012.

On Wednesday, the United Nations General Assembly held elections for the President of the 75th Session of the United Nations General Assembly. In accordance with the special voting procedures introduced in this document, five non-permanent members of the Security Council and members of the Economic and Social Council were carried out during the first session of the Assembly in accordance with the restrictions related to COVID-19.

The Turkish diplomat and politician Volkan Bozkir was elected president of the 75th Turkish National Assembly. He was elected at the 58th session of the United Nations General Assembly. He was a candidate supported by Western European and other countries.

The elections started on Wednesday at 9 a.m. and, unlike previous years when UN envoys, diplomats and staff were present in the large hall of the UN General Assembly, this year’s presence in the hall of the UN General Assembly was insufficient due to the limitations of COVID-19.

Diplomats, staff and other members of the United Nations arrived in masks at the General Assembly Hall and left immediately after the vote.

In accordance with the guidelines on social distance in the context of the coronavirus pandemic, 193 Member States of the United Nations were given different time limits to vote in the main General Assembly elections.

In accordance with the guidelines on social distance, the Member States received eight votes starting at 9 a.m. The voting continued in the afternoon and the voters who could not reach the General Assembly for some time were given an extra 30 minutes. The time allocated to India for the vote is 11.30 a.m. – 12 noon.

The President of the UN General Assembly, Tijani Mohammad Bande, followed the events in the General Assembly room and the tellers also observed the whole process.

Three candidates – Djibouti, India and Kenya – have been nominated for the two vacant seats in the African and Asian-Pacific states. One candidate, Mexico, was approved for a vacant seat from Latin American and Caribbean countries. Canada, Ireland and Norway have applied for the two vacant seats from Western Europe and other countries.

The 15-member Security Council has five permanent members – the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia and China – and ten non-permanent members.

Each year, the General Meeting elects five non-permanent members for a term of two years. Ten temporary seats are distributed regionally as follows: five seats for African and Asian countries, one seat for Eastern European countries, two seats for Latin American and Caribbean countries and two seats for Western European and other countries. In order to be elected to the Council, the applicant countries must obtain a two-thirds majority of the votes of the Member States present and voting in the Assembly.

India’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Ambassador T.C. Turumurti, said India’s presence in the Security Council would help deliver Vasudhaiva Kutumbakama’s message to global public opinion and stressed that the United Nations and multilateralism must evolve to reflect current realities and maintain its credibility as the world organisation celebrates its 75th anniversary this year.

India’s journey with the United Nations is remarkable. As a founding member of the United Nations, India has contributed significantly to the achievement of the aims of the United Nations Charter and to the development of United Nations organisations and programmes. In many ways this is quite unusual, Tirumurti said in a video message for the elections.

I am convinced that the presence of India in the Security Council will play an important role in the preparation of the celebration of the 75th anniversary of the United Nations Security Council. The anniversary of India’s independence in 2022 will help to make it clear to the world that the world is one family – Wasudhaiva Kutumbakam, he said.

India has been at the forefront of efforts to reform the Security Council for many years and has stated that it rightly deserves a permanent seat on the Council which, in its current form, does not reflect the geopolitical realities of the 21st century.

📣 ()

You can find all the latest news from India on our website.




India has been elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council

К : PTI New Delhi Published : 18. June 2020 2:37:09 India has been elected as a candidate for a non-permanent seat on the United...

Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms has ordered changes to the police use of force policy.

Atlanta Mayor Lance Bottoms on Monday ordered a change in Atlanta Police Department policy on the use of force in response to outrage over...

Kobe Bryant’s 8 Most Embossed Buzzer Beaters and Game Winners ranked

  As far as the clutch players are concerned, few can follow the great Kobe Bryant, who has now passed away. The legend of the Los...